- What the 94.14% Figure Actually Measures
- Which Test Is Behind the Number
- The Written Test Format Behind the Statistic
- Reading the Data Without Over-Reading It
- The Eight ACS Areas Your Questions Come From
- Written Pass Rate vs. Checkride Reality
- Retakes, Endorsements and Test-Report Validity
- Cost Context: What Passing Actually Takes
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the ACS
- Frequently Asked Questions
- FAA's 2025 statistics show 597 Instrument Rating Helicopter tests, a 94.14% pass rate and an 84.47% average score.
- The written test has 60 questions, a 2.0-hour limit and a 70 passing score per the current FAA matrix.
- That 94.14% is a 2025 test-administration figure, not a first-attempt rate or a checkride pass rate.
- Passing the IRH written test alone does not award the rating; a separate practical assessment is required.
What the 94.14% Figure Actually Measures
When candidates search for the IHR pass rate, they usually want one number that tells them how risky the exam is. The Federal Aviation Administration does publish one for this credential, and it is a strong figure: in its 2025 Airman Knowledge Test Statistics volume report, the FAA lists Instrument Rating Helicopter at 597 tests, a 94.14% pass rate and an average score of 84.47%.
Those three numbers belong together. The volume tells you the sample is modest, since a few hundred helicopter instrument knowledge tests in a year is a niche population compared with airplane instrument testing. The pass rate tells you most test events end in a passing score. The average score of 84.47% sits well above the 70 needed to pass, which suggests that candidates who reach the testing center are typically prepared with a margin.
For a broader look at difficulty beyond one statistic, see our guide on how hard the IHR exam is, and for the official cut score mechanics, see IHR passing score 2026.
Which Test Is Behind the Number
On this site, "IHR" is shorthand for the Instrument-Helicopter Rating issued by the FAA. The FAA's own knowledge-test code for it is IRH, titled Instrument Rating Helicopter, and the applicable standards document is the Instrument Rating - Helicopter Airman Certification Standards (FAA-S-ACS-14). That distinction matters when you hunt for statistics, because several nearby tests produce very different numbers and are easy to confuse:
| Test or Credential | Relationship to IHR |
|---|---|
| Instrument Rating Helicopter (IRH), FAA | The test this article's statistics describe |
| Instrument Rating Airplane test | Different knowledge test; airplane pass rates do not apply |
| Flight Instructor Instrument Helicopter test | Instructor-level test, not the rating itself |
| Canadian-conversion test (ICH) | Separate FAA test for a different pathway |
| EASA or other-jurisdiction IR(H) exams | Different regulator, different content and statistics |
If you quote a pass rate you found elsewhere, confirm that it names the FAA Instrument Rating Helicopter test specifically. For a plain-language explanation of the label itself, our pages on what IHR is and what IHR stands for cover the naming.
The Written Test Format Behind the Statistic
Understanding the format helps you interpret why the pass rate looks the way it does. According to the FAA Airman Knowledge Testing Matrix:
- Questions: 60, published count (the FAA notes that additional unscored validation questions may appear and are not included in that count; their number is not disclosed)
- Time allowed: 2.0 hours, and that allowance includes time to answer any unscored questions
- Passing score: 70
- Minimum age to take the written test: 15
- Delivery: computer-based, at FAA-approved knowledge-testing centers
- Question style: objective multiple choice; the publisher ASA describes three answer choices per question
Booking runs through the FAA's testing provider (PSI Services; the portal login page we retrieved was branded Talogy). You need a Federal Tracking Number from IACRA, acceptable identification and, for a first attempt, either a ground-course completion document from an acceptable FAA-certificated school or a readiness endorsement from an authorized instructor. The test is not open-book, and you cannot bring personal study notes or an electronic reference library. Permitted calculators and navigation aids are allowed under proctor control, with any stored information erased. Our exam dates and scheduling guide walks through the booking mechanics.
Reading the Data Without Over-Reading It
A 94.14% rate can tempt candidates into complacency, so it helps to be disciplined about what the data can and cannot say.
What a high rate plausibly reflects
The FAA's own procedures make a first-attempt sitting conditional on formal preparation: a ground-course completion document or an instructor's readiness endorsement. Candidates therefore arrive pre-screened by someone who has judged them ready. Add the fact that the population is largely existing pilots with a private certificate working toward an advanced rating, and a high pass rate is unsurprising. That is an inference, not an FAA finding, but it is consistent with the structure of the process.
What the data cannot tell you
- Retake share: The statistic does not separate first attempts from retests, so it should not be quoted as a first-attempt rate.
- Domain difficulty: The FAA does not publish percentage weights or item allocations by ACS area, so no one can honestly name a "highest-weighted domain."
- Checkride outcomes: An exact current practical pass-rate statistic was not established, so avoid claims about how many candidates pass the flight evaluation.
- Future years: A 2025 figure is not a prediction for 2026.
Key Takeaway
Use the 94.14% figure to calibrate your confidence, not to reduce your preparation. An average score of 84.47% means typical passers still miss a meaningful number of questions out of 60; aim to be comfortably above 70, not scraping it.
The Eight ACS Areas Your Questions Come From
The Instrument Rating - Helicopter ACS organizes everything into eight Areas of Operation. These are the official content areas, integrating knowledge, risk management and skills. They are not weighted sections of the written test, and the FAA has not published how many of the 60 questions come from each. Because of that, the safe approach is full coverage. Our complete guide to the eight IHR content areas goes deeper; here is the overview with the helicopter-specific details that tend to matter.
Domain 1: Preflight Preparation
Pilot qualifications, weather information and cross-country flight planning.
- Instrument-related currency and qualification requirements
- Weather products, hazards and go/no-go decisions for IFR helicopter flight
- Planning an IFR cross-country with attention to fuel, alternates and performance
Domain 2: Preflight Procedures
Aircraft systems related to IFR operations, helicopter flight instruments and navigation equipment, and the instrument flight deck check.
- How the helicopter's systems and instruments support or limit IFR flight
- Pre-departure equipment checks and what inoperative items mean
Domain 3: Air Traffic Control (ATC) Clearances and Procedures
Compliance with ATC clearances and holding procedures.
- Copying, reading back and complying with clearances
- Entry, timing and wind correction for holding
Domain 4: Flight by Reference to Instruments
Instrument flight and recovery from unusual flight attitudes.
- Attitude instrument flying and instrument cross-check
- Recognizing and recovering from unusual attitudes using instruments
Domain 5: Navigation Systems
Intercepting and tracking navigational systems and DME arcs, plus departure, en route and arrival operations.
- Course interception and tracking with the equipment in use
- Departure, en route and arrival procedures
Domain 6: Instrument Approach Procedures
Non-precision approach, precision approach, missed approach and landing from an instrument approach.
- Reading approach charts and understanding minimums
- Missed approach decisions and the transition to landing
Domain 7: Emergency Operations
Loss of communications, approach with loss of primary flight instrument indicators, and, for multiengine helicopters only, a simulated approach and landing with an inoperative engine.
- Lost-communications procedures and decision making
- Operating with failed primary instrument indicators
- The inoperative-engine task applies only to multiengine helicopters
Domain 8: Postflight Procedures
Checking instruments and equipment.
- Evaluating instrument and equipment performance after flight
Note that the subordinate tasks listed under each area do not change the count: there are eight areas, and no fabricated weighting should be assumed.
Written Pass Rate vs. Checkride Reality
The single most common misunderstanding about the IHR pass rate is treating the written result as the finish line. Passing the IRH knowledge test alone does not award the rating. The practical assessment is a separate event with a separate evaluator: an authorized FAA evaluator or designated pilot examiner, not the testing center.
| Element | Written Knowledge Test | Practical Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| Where | FAA-approved knowledge-testing center | Authorized evaluator or designated pilot examiner |
| Structure | 60 questions, 2.0 hours, passing score 70 | Ground/oral portion plus flight evaluation |
| Standard | Applicable ACS knowledge elements | ACS knowledge, risk management and skill standards |
| Public pass statistic | 94.14% (2025, 597 tests) | No current exact statistic established |
| Failure consequence | Retest with endorsement after instruction | A failed required task can fail the practical |
Oral questioning continues during the flight portion. No fixed practical question count or universal practical time limit was verified, so be wary of sources that state one. The written test checks whether you know the material; the practical checks whether you can apply it in the aircraft.
Eligibility for the rating also involves flight experience under 14 CFR 61.65, which for the ordinary Part 61 helicopter route includes 50 hours of cross-country as pilot in command (10 in helicopters), 40 hours of actual or simulated instrument time (15 with an instructor holding instrument-helicopter privileges), three hours of helicopter instrument practical-test preparation within the preceding two calendar months, and an instructed IFR cross-country of at least 100 nautical miles with an instrument approach at each airport and three different kinds of approaches. These are rating-completion requirements, not a rule that every hour must precede the written test. Full detail is in our IHR requirements guide.
Retakes, Endorsements and Test-Report Validity
A pass rate under 100% means some candidates fail, so it is worth knowing the mechanics. To retest after a failure, you need the failed Airman Knowledge Test Report and an endorsement after additional instruction. Separately, a standard knowledge-test result remains eligible for the practical within the preceding 24 calendar months under 14 CFR 61.39, so plan your checkride within that window.
One more nuance: if you already hold an instrument rating in another aircraft category, 61.65(a)(7) exempts you from taking another knowledge test, but adding instrument-helicopter still requires the applicable practical and experience. Airplane pilots adding the helicopter category should read that rule carefully.
Cost Context: What Passing Actually Takes
A high pass rate does not make the rating cheap, and the written test is only one line item. No universal FAA or testing-provider booking price was independently verified, so confirm your quote when you book. As published examples only, one helicopter school's 2026 cost article lists USD 175 for the written exam, an IR-H program example of USD 16,300 tuition, and USD 800 to 1,200 in examiner fees. Those are one school's figures, not an FAA tariff or an all-in price.
Preparation products are priced separately from the exam: one provider advertises USD 299 for a course with 17.4 hours of content, while another lists USD 50 for IRH preparation. Keep tuition, aircraft time, question-bank subscriptions, the written fee and examiner charges as separate budget lines. Our IHR certification cost breakdown expands on this, and the ROI analysis covers the value question. For context on earnings, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports a May 2025 median annual pay of USD 123,220 for commercial pilots, but that is a broad occupational figure, not a helicopter-only or instrument-rating-specific wage, and it does not show that this rating alone creates a pay premium.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the ACS
Because the FAA does not disclose area weightings, one practical approach is to sequence study by dependency rather than guessed importance. This is one sample ordering, tied to the eight areas, not an official schedule. Build detail from the IHR study guide.
Foundations: Domains 1 and 2
- Weather products, IFR flight planning and qualification rules
- Aircraft systems, flight instruments and the instrument flight deck check
Control and Clearances: Domains 3 and 4
- Clearance compliance and holding entries
- Attitude instrument flying and unusual-attitude recovery
Navigation and Approaches: Domains 5 and 6
- Intercepting and tracking courses, DME arcs, departure, en route and arrival
- Non-precision, precision and missed approaches
Abnormals and Review: Domains 7 and 8
- Lost communications and loss of primary instrument indicators
- Equipment checks, then full mixed-domain practice under a 2.0-hour clock
Approaches and navigation sit late because they depend on instrument flying and clearance fundamentals. Practice with realistic IRH-style questions, but remember that live exam questions are not publicly released, and the FAA directs applicants to the PSI sample tests. Be skeptical of any source that claims to sell "actual" exam items. You can drill topics on our IHR practice test platform, and a quick final refresh is available in the IHR cheat sheet.
Key Takeaway
Work all eight ACS areas, use official PSI sample tests for format familiarity, and time yourself against 2.0 hours. Then shift attention to the practical, where the 94.14% written statistic no longer applies.
Frequently Asked Questions
The most recent FAA figure is for calendar year 2025: Instrument Rating Helicopter had 597 tests, a 94.14% pass rate and an 84.47% average score. It is a 2025 statistic, not a 2026 forecast, and not a first-attempt or checkride rate.
No. The written test is one requirement. You must also meet the experience requirements and pass a separate practical assessment with an authorized FAA evaluator or designated pilot examiner.
The FAA matrix lists 60 questions and 2.0 hours, with a passing score of 70. Unscored validation questions may appear in addition to the published count, and the time allowance includes them. An older ACS appendix shows 2.5 hours, but the FAA has identified that as incorrect.
The FAA has not published percentage weights or item allocations for the eight areas, so no area can be called the heaviest. Prepare for all eight, from preflight preparation through postflight procedures.
You can retest after receiving additional instruction and an endorsement, and you must present the failed Airman Knowledge Test Report. Review the missed topics before rescheduling.
For more on career outcomes after the rating, see our guides to IHR salary and IHR jobs, or start working through questions on the main practice test site.